220 Volts > UPS > Stabilizer > 2 Extension Cords > Step Down Transformer > AVR + SW

kurups

Hi Guys,

I am new to hifi and here is my question. Made this complete question itself after reading so many threads :)

Basic Requirement is to run a 480 Watts Powered AVR (110 Volts rated) + 200 Watts Powered Subwoofer in India along with the regular Home AV Equipments mentioend below to get an uninterrepted AV Experience.

1) I wanted to know if this is correct way of setting up this HT System with a 220 V Indian Mains.

220 Volts MAINS > 2KVA UPS > Stabilizer > 1.5KW Step Down Transformer (220V to 110V)> AVR (Rated a Max of 480 Watts) + SW (Rated a Max of 200 Watts).

From the Stabilizer One Extension Cord shall also be taken to feed 5 Devices ...the TV, Wifi Router, An 8 Port Dlink Switch, Blueray Player and the Tatasky STB. All these 5 devices put together may not consume more than 500Watts.

2) Can 2 Outputs be taken from the same stabiliser. I am thinking of V-Guard DIGI 200 Voltage Stabilizer OR V-Guard Voltage Stabilizer VND 500 2 TOn. Is this Fine or a UPS+ Stabiliser combination is Not Required?

3) Am i being over cautious by using UPS+Stabilizer Combination or is there a better cost effective setup.

4) What about the sqare wave/sine wave funda which i read in many threads. Will that affect this setup.

Rgds
Sreejith

Last edited:
Re: 220 Volts > UPS > Stabilizer > 2 Extension Cords > Step Down Transformer > AVR +

That is a complicated setup. Never connect Stabilizer to UPS out. UPS can be connected to stabilizer out, but the stabilizer should be of much higher VA than the UPS. Instead of stabilizer+UPS combo, there are line interactive UPS (like the one I'm using) which has built in stabilizer and it works from 140V-270V. The only problem is that most of them have quasi sinewave output when in battery mode but you can connect your TV, Wifi Router, Dlink Switch, Blu-ray Player and Tatasky STB safely. For AVR use the stepdown transformer with a surge protector.