46 inch plus TV .. HX750 or HX850 or ST50

manzb

I have been using a HD ready Sony LCD for last 5 years.. no issue, still happy.. but considering that now there are great TVs on offer at much bigger sizes, I am planning to upgrade. My choices revolves around following TVs
46 HX750 (close to 90K)
46 HX850 (close to 110k)
55 HX750 (close to 140k)
50 ST50 (close to 100k)

Though my budget is around a lac, I can stretch a bit if the TV is real getter..

I am planning around diwali (when better offers are expected), and can wait sometime more for the same, if prices are expected drop significantly.. I will use it in the hall and it is not bright and does not face any window or door, so plasma is also fine.. need your advice

If you will use it mostly for Bluray movie watching than TV shows, sports etc pick the ST50. If it's going to be mostly TV shows, sports, DVDs etc then pick HX850. Forget about the HX750 it's not in the same league as HX850/ST50.

Thanx avmaxfan..

Well though I watch mostly Movies (80%) & balance sports, news etc.. but better half is more inclined to soaps etc.. :) .. I hv tata sky HD connection

Though goin by this thread, ST50 seems obvious choice, but somehow, laymen outside such forums advice only LEDs... Wat's missing in HX750 vis-a-vis HX850? The difference is a bit too much at 20k.. is it worth paying 20 k extra for the difference?

Also shall I wait till Diwali for a better price/ offer?

which is why all laymen come to this forum for expert advice :), so please ask the experts here and do not trust any laymen, least of all the shop salesman. They do not have the proper training and will only sell based on higher commission.