5.1 channel output from asus oplay mini

atomar76

I am a newbie. I have sony led tv (40Ex520), asus oplay mini and sony home theater.

i want to view movie from asus oplay mini with 5.1 channel surround sound. which all cables i will need and how to make connections.

Presently i am using HDMI cable to connect asus oplay mini and LED tv. should i use composite output from oplay mini to home theater OR any output from led tv to home theater is needed?

If your HT has optical input, then you need only an optical cable to connect the player and enjoy 5.1. If there is no optical input then use the RL out of the player to aux in of the HT. But this won't give true 5.1 surround.

i just bought that player today and it was awesome
i just want the same thing
which should i buy for 5.1 sound?
and which cable do i need?

5.1 audio is only possible with either HDMI or optical. You need to connect an optical cable from the Asus Oplay to the Sony HT. From the specs below it clearly says the Oplay Mini has HDMI and Optical.

Composite Video
Composite Audio L/R
S/PDIF Out (Optical)
HDMI 1.3

5.1 audio is only possible with either HDMI or optical. You need to connect an optical cable from the Asus Oplay to the Sony HT. From the specs below it clearly says the Oplay Mini has HDMI and Optical.

Composite Video
Composite Audio L/R
S/PDIF Out (Optical)
HDMI 1.3
i wanna buy speakers with an optical input, so i can connect asus oplay with it
or
can i use my tv output audio socket through cable in to any speakers? will they give good 5.1 sound? or not

please suggest me some cheap speakers

Hi Atomar76,
there a couple of ways to go around.

Asus o play supports HDMI and SPDIF ( optical ) outputs.
Sony KDL-40EX520 supports HDMI in but no HDMI out (?) but has digital audio out (what type ? - optical or coaxial ? )

TerminalsHDMI / Audio In 4 (1 Side/ 3 Rear)
USB 2.0 2 (Side)
Ethernet Connection 1 (Rear)
Composite Video Input(s) 2 (Rear/ 1 Hybrid)