5.1 Home Theater Setup

radiant_luv

Hello,

I am not technically much aware when it comes to the sound but I like to watch movies with better experience. My budget was 25K, did some research and purchased a 5.1 Yamaha YHT 196. I also did some more research on the setup but I still have some doubt. I want to have the viewing and listening experience to the maximum with the available equipment. Please bear with me if some questions are really silly.

1. TV (32" Sony KDL HX32)
2. STB (Airtel HD)
3. WDTV

Above 3 will be connected to 5.1 Yamaha (YHT 196)

Regarding Connection Setup
i). How do I connect these equipments to HT and use which cable? (Currently, I have 3 HDMI cable).
One specific requirement in my mind is that not to have Surround Sound/Active Bass sometimes for TV (for example while viewing News etc). so I would like to easily switch between tv sound to HT and vice versa. Is it possible?If yes how the connection to be done and what kind of cable would require.

Regarding Placement Setup
(Please click on the below thumbnail for a larger image)

2 things is bothering me,
i) the right wall is far, is there any specific setup required or the set up demonstrated in the image is okay.
ii) Surround speakers distance - Human to SL is more than Human to SR, does it cause any issue (or it's negligible?) if it causes, is there a way to overcome.

And any specific advice on the overall setup would be great. Hope to learn lot from your expert advice.

Thanks in advance. :)

Using HDMI cable
Connect STB to AVR HDMI in
Connect WDTV to AVR HDMI in
Finally AVR HDMI out to TV HDMI in.

If u don't want surround sound you can change it to stereo option in AVR .(Sound will come only from front speakers).
otherwise if u don't want to use AVR during news watching .You may need to check your TV settings to turnoff external speakers.(it may be available in some TV models -check TV manual) so that volume will come only TV speakers.

Using HDMI cable
Connect STB to AVR HDMI in