5.1 Speakers to go with Denon AVR X1200W

schumi2508

Hi Folks,

I am a newbie to this forum, so pardon me for my little or lack of knowledge.

First a little bit of history
Till about last year I was using a CRT at home. My parents are not much into electronics and hence they really did not care whether they watched an LED TV or a CRT. My efforts to push them to get a LED TV had gone in vain. We were using a regular STB. But then the world cup was about to begin. I somehow coaxed dad into buying me a 50inch LED.

Obviously the movement from watching a 29inch to 50inch was a phenomenal experience. Weekends became movie weekends. It was just great to watch HD movies on the large screen at home.

I had an old Pioneer DVD + 5.1 sound system which I continued. Sound from the STB was also regular stereo. However with the TV in place, the bug to create a proper HT bit me. Wondering what to replace first I thought first I needed to buy an AVR (realized its a mistake later) as I though I already had decent 5.1 speakers and I just needed to hook them up to a good sound receiver.

After extensive research on specs and costing, I bought the Demon AVR X1200W from Amazon Germany. The service was great and I got it cheaper than local even after adding freight and import duties. I was very happy thinking it would complete my HT dream.

I connected everything to come across my first barrier. The subwoofer I had was a passive one and the receiver needed an active one. So I had to look for a new receiver. Looked for the cost online it came to a minimum of Rs.10k. I thought why not just first try with the speakers.

So I connected everything only to realise I wasn't getting the punch and quality I was expecting. In fact it seemed worse than before with the Pioneer DVD system. That's when I read more and came across Posts which said better the receiver , better were the speakers reqd.