72 Hours with Samsung KS7000

dolfin

I had to change my TV this year. I had been scanning the internet ever since 2016 lineups were announced in CES. I was particularly interested in LG UH850T and Samsung KS7000. The former for Dolby Vision & 3D and the later for UHD Premium Certification (associated hardware features). Around July I saw the LG model in showroom and I was totally disappointed with the PQ. The panel lacked contrast and blacks were not so deep. Colours were also looking dull for my choice. So I decided to wait for Samsung. Later came KS9000 and I was quite amazed to see the PQ. Subsequently KS7000 also hit the shelves.

Now it was choice between 3D and PQ. I finally decided to sacrifice 3D for PQ and got my Samsung KS7000 installed two days back. Here is my review of the model:

Build Quality (8/10):
Build quality is quite good to justify SUHD range. This TV is almost bezel-less and can be fitted perfectly in tight space. Mine is installed in corner and I could not find better fitting for its size. Though I am not using the stands, I felt its design is not good. They take lot of table space and rotation is not possible. I also heard that being screw-less they are prone to fall down.

Bundled remote feels solid in hand. It is a Universal Remote and does not require line of sight. Smart Hub Interface scans the device through HDMI and sets up necessary codes. The process is not smooth like Logitech Harmony but descent for a TV. Some buttons like power, back etc. are flush and sometimes do not click.

One Connect Box is really a smart idea and makes the ports easily accessible. Had it been on the back side, it really would have been a great pain since my TV is in corner. Of course it is upgradable though I am not sure if Samsung will keep its promise in releasing upgrades 2-3 years down the line.

Interface (7/10):