A newbie requesting help and advice

mailrishigupta

Hi all.
My name is rishi and I am a complete newbie as far as sound systems are concerned.

I have recently put my mind to setting up a good home theatre system in my living room. Its dimensions are 23ft x 16ft x 12ft high.

To this effect, after putting in a lot of research, I have gone ahead and bought a panasonic p50v20 plasma, which I have fallen in love with. :)

My budget for the remaining stuff is MAX 35k.

I don't have any surround sound system or av player at the moment. And I would like information regarding these. As of now my knowledge about these is zero.

As far as the player is concerned, I do not want blu ray. Nothing too fancy. I just want something that can play dvds and files from usb drives, and supports the common formats.

now coming to the main part. The sound system. I would me much obliged if someone could answer the following questions in a bit of detail:-

1) what I have gathered by going through the topics in this forums is that when buying sound systems , one should not go for companies like sony, lg etc, but rather go for "professional" companies like onkyo and denon. What I would like to know is are these companies really much better, and if so, what companies should I be looking at if I wanna stay in my budget of 35k?

2) what role does an avr play in the sound home theatre system, apart from playing content. Does it contribute to the quality of the sound system? (as in, not whether it supports dolby etc, but rather, does it contribute at a hardware level, like amplification)

3) Do I need to get seperate avr and 5.1systems, or will a combo do. More importantly, what would better suite my budget?

4)if you could explain some basic specs and features that I shpuld look at while buying audio systems.

5) is there a good option available with wireless speakers?