Amplifier types and their application in hifi audio

bishwarupdas

HI,
I am very new to this audio world while going through them I find myself confused with few terms. Can some body help me out on them and their use.
1. AV receivers
2. AV separators
3. Integrated amplifiers
4. pre-amplifiers

a power amplifier is the unit that amplifies the sound and powers the speakers
a pre amplifier is a unit that has some software like dts, dolby digital etc and also controls volume, bass, treble etc
a tuner is a radio frequency receiver
power amp + pre amp in one unit = integrated amp
integrated amp + tuner in one unit = receiver

there are two types of amps based on usage. a stereo amp has two channels and is mainly used for listening to music. a av amp will generally have 7.1 (7 surround channels and 1 sub out)

i am not sure what you mean by separators but the word separates is normally used when you use separate units for pre and power amps

1. AV receivers
2. AV separators
3. Integrated amplifiers
4. pre-amplifiers

Hi !

I am not good at this - but I will give it a try;;

1]

AV Receiver = Audio Video Receiver

This is a 'control centre' for your surround sound - movie / game etc.
It takes a digital feed by HDMI [generally] from your Compouter / DVD / Blue Ray player & sends a HDMI - Video to your screen / projector / LCD / Plasma / LED etc.
Audio is 'processed' & sent to your front / centre / rear / sub etc. speakers.

2] AV Separates

The same as above.

However, the Processor & Amplifier are in different boxes.
The Pre Amplifier is in 1 box & the Power Amplifier is in a different box or several boxes. This will cost more & 'could' be more accurate & also more powerful.

3] Integrated Amplifiers

This is for pure 2 channel music play back.
There is no video circuit in this at all.
This is the most basic form of music play back.