Any thoughts or feedback on MrSpeakers MadDog?

asliarun

I am thinking of buying MrSpeakers Mad Dog. And they are in stock.

I'm fairly new to the headphone game. Has anyone heard these headphones? I am also planning to buy blind based on reviews as I have no clue where to audition/listen to them (I live in Evanston near Chicago).

And any recommendations for a relatively inexpensive headphone amp and DAC? These headphones are supposed to be relatively easy to drive but will still need a small amp at least.

I mostly listen to classic rock, occasional metal, alternative, acoustic, and electronica (bands like Radiohead). And after listening to so many off the shelf Philips models, I want to get a model that I can listen to for a long time and for long stretches of time, and that will not break as well.

i was almost there for the foxtex T50 modded by Mad Dog which as quoted sounds very good. what you are looking is a 120$ headphone modded and praised for its abilities. i do not have first hands experience with the modded ones but it can be a love or hate thing.
i see you are in chicago. a lot of Head-fi guys are around that area. you can give them a try. i would be a bit skeptical to invest 3 times the price of the actual product.

also to add i would suggest you get a new HE-400 which retails about same price infact 40-50$ cheaper else if you have more room hit the mark with the he-500 else look for used he-500 for budget contraint.. either shall keep you happy but 500's are a diffrent league all together hence the price diffrence..

remember mods can make or break a thing. in case of tp50 many have given positive reviews but then you's need a lot of tinkering to reach there with other stuff in the chain equally good. also people reported velour pads to be on stiffer side and more bass.