Audiolab MDAC + vs Luxman DA-250

Vivek Batra

Hi FMs

I need your urgent help on deciding between the two DACs. I have no prior experience with any of the component. I am going to pair the dac with following

1. Luxman 590 AXII Integrated Amplifier
2. Klipsch Forte Speakers

It will be great help to me if you could compare the two DACs and is it worth staying with in the same brand (Luxman) for the dac as well? I do not see any advantage in Luxman over Audiolab. Almost same specs but the price difference is double.

For you convenience I have pulled down the specs for both the models below. Kindly suggest which one should be more suitable for the system overall.

Thanks a lot.

SpecificationsAudiolab MDAC+Luxman DA-250
Front1578558474312.png1578558548417.png
Back1578558515710.png1578558575404.png
Sampling Frequencies24-bit / 192kHz (Optical, Coaxial, AES)USB input (PCM) : 32k, 44.1k, 48k, 88.2k
96k, 176.4k, 192k(16, 24, 32bits)
USB input (DSD) : 2.82M, 5.64MHz (1bit)
COAX/OPT input : 32k, 44.1k, 48k, 88.2k
96k, 176.4k, 192kHz (16, 20, 24bits)
MC HIGH: 0.37mV, MC LOW: 0.12mV
Digital Inputs2 x Coaxial, 2 x Toslink Optical, 1 x AES/EBU, 1 x USB for PC USB, 1x USB for iPod/iPhone/iPadUSB x 1, COAX x 1, OPT x 2
Digital Outputs1x Coaxial, 1 x Toslink OpticalCOAX x 1, OPT x 1
Analogue InputNoneUnbalance x 1
Analogue OutputUnbalance x 1, Balance x 1, Headphone x 1Unbalance x 1, Balance x 1, Headphone x 1
DACESS Sabre32 9018 chipTexas Instrument 32-bit compatible PCM1795
MQANoNo
Balanced output voltage/Impedance20Ω2.5V/600Ω
Unbalanced output voltage/impedance10Ω2.5V/300Ω
Headphone outputNot known130mW + 130mW(600Ω)
400mW + 400mW(32Ω), 200mW + 200mW(16Ω)
Frequency Response20Hz - 20kHz (± 0.2dB)2Hz to 50kHz (+0, -3.0dB)
THD @ 1kHz<0.002%0.001%
SNRRCA: > -115dB, XLR: > -120dB118dB
Dynamic RangeRCA: > 115dB, XLR: > 120dBNot known
CrosstalkRCA: > 120dB, XLR: > 130dBNot known
Dimensions114mm x 247mm x 292mm364(W) x 81(H) x 279(D) mm
Net Weight3.7kg5.4kg
ColorBlack + SilverSilver