Bad soundstage in my HT for stereo

ramukmar.raj

When I play my Yamaha HTiB in stereo for songs, the soundstage is no way comparable to my Samson SR850 headphones.
I have placed them properly at 22 degree angels from the centre, So the front speakers are separated by around 45 degrees. (as recommended by dolby for 5.1)
Is this angle too low for proper left and right separation for songs, because I'm not able to feel good separation.

I'm new to this hobby.
So is this setup not meant for stereo listening at all?? I don't know much about IAs but how are they better for music ignoring clarity of music. I'm purely talking about soundstage and nice left and right separation. Do we place speakers at a wider angle in a stereo setup?

I tried with this video for testing:
It feels like the sound is coming from the middle mostly, buy on listening carefully I can figures out some difference on the left and right,
But they are nowhere close to what I hear on my headphones.

Edit: I'm running in straight mode only, without any modes selected. (so there is no additional processing in the AVR)

Last edited:
When I play my Yamaha HTiB in stereo for songs, the soundstage is no way comparable to my Samson SR850 headphones.
....But they are nowhere close to what I hear on my headphones.
Hearing on headphone is on very close environment , hence most of the outside noise and sounds are prevented. And headphones mostly works with stereo modes so left/right separations will be very good in headphones.
Challenge with Audio setup is - require proper calibration, room acoustics , outside noises ,room echo ..etc.

First of all check with stereo mode whether your music sounds better. AVR's other sound preset modes for music will try to simulate the sound according to the sound mode selected. Also check with "direct" mode if your AVR has option.