Basic question on Amplifiers - Can one use an AVR and a Stereo amp together?

dannyarcher

Hello all,
I'm new to all the world of Hi-Fi. Thanks to many FMs' help, I got good info on how to setup a 5.1.

Now, I have a basic question w.r.t amplifiers:
I have a Denon AV Receiver -- works amazing for movies. Not so great for music.
How do I improve the quality of music given my setup?
There are a lot of terms like pre-amp, power-amp, stereo amp etc. I don't think I understand these very much.

What component should I look to, to significantly improve the music quality of my system, while still using my Denon AVR for movies?
(I know that if the AVR had pre-outs, things would've been easier. However, is that the only way?)

Can you please shed some light on this?
Thank you.

Well I can’t answer all your questions but some I can. First of all yes a stereo amp can be connected to an avr that has pre-outs. Just use a rca cable and inter-connect the avr from its pre-out to the stereo amp rca inputs. And regarding your confusion with power amp, As the name says it is a power amplifier which can only receive the audio signal and send it to the speaker along with power. It cannot do any audio processing.

First of all yes a stereo amp can be connected to an avr that has pre-outs. Just use a rca cable and inter-connect the avr from its pre-out to the stereo amp rca inputs.