Basic turntable setup suggestions for a newbie

bhattacharyyasom

Hey Guys ,

i am a newbie to the vinyl world. i have a rich collection of cds but now i am planning to start listening to only vinyls.
However i am clueless on where to start with the setup.
What do i need ?
eg. turntable,amplifiers , speakers etc
What makes are good for each of the above category?

My budget is pretty tight. In the range of 15k-20k .
Can anyone suggest me a good solid vinyls setup for starters?

20K budget is bit too tight for a vinyl setup assuming you need TT, Phono, Amp and Speakers within this budget. Even if you manage to set up something in that range I'm afraid that you will not enjoy listening to vinyl. You may end up thinking CD sound much better than Vinyl.

20K budget is bit too tight for a vinyl setup assuming you need TT, Phono, Amp and Speakers within this budget. Even if you manage to set up something in that range I'm afraid that you will not enjoy listening to vinyl. You may end up thinking CD sound much better than Vinyl.

I fully agree that 20 K is not good enough to make the impression that will hook you to vinyl. Why don't you visit a friendly FM in your area to get a better idea about vinyl listening?

Since you have a rich colection of CDs, it is presumed that you already have a basic stereo setup( amp & speakers). In that case you can start with a used vintage Turntable and a basic phonoamp and connect it to the existing setup. This will surely work, as a starter.
--vnmathur

HI Som

Welcome to HFV.

As VN mentioned, you have a CD collection so we'll assume that you have a good stereo setup already.

I'll suggest that you try to get a basic vintage turntable and a basic phono stage and start looking for records. Mind you, due to a sudden surge in vinyl lovers, it's getting difficult to acquire records as the days are passing.