Bose cinemate 520 review

ardesarchitects

Hi ,everyone
I know Bose is big "no no" in audiophile world. Let me put my version, though i am not a pro audiophile but have a detail ear for quality sounds .
I would like to write my review on BOSE 520 that is not available anywhere in forums.

I purchased cinemate 520 for the very reason of flexibility to connect any player / setup box /gaming console up to 4 units HDMI on the bose console .
I decided on bose because i need a home theater set up in my mid size living room and then i cannot afford for large size speakers on floor or on walls.
Some how as an architect i feel filling room with huge speakers for best audio quality sounds crazy unless its a dedicated home theater room.

Pros
1. Unlike previous bose version this comes with a simple console ( it self is amp and audio conditioner) to connect our own players ( DVD,AUX,GAME console,TV,digital aux)
2. It is like a plug and play system
3. Speaker output is very clean and clear with zero noise .
4. No buzz sounds or electrical inferences though my audio wires were running in parallel to some electrical wires in ceiling
5. Universal remote literally makes your living room free from all kind of remotes
6. Wireless woofer that need power source ,so you can hide the woofer any where in the room with raw power access
7. Best suitable for converting any room in to home theater with out any acoustic panels ,false ceilings etc.
8. ADAPTiQ helps to automatically calibrate the speakers based on the location ,yes it works like gem .
9. Console automatically converts the audio to stereo and srs irrespective of source you are playing .

Cons
1. I wonder how BOSE missed the basics of speakers ,you cannot play HDMI music with out TV on ,yes you heard it correct .
Irrespective of HDMI source ( except RCA or AUX )you are playing ,the console goes mute the minute you switch off the TV .Bose version is that its a home theater first and then music system.