Building my own absolute budget bargain subwoofer

Vinod.R

Hello friends in the forum and bassoholics,

I am now in the mood to build my own sub woofer with my very limited knowledge and experience. I have been prowling around sub woofer threads, reading about knowledgeable members (@mpw, @Hari Iyer etc.) about their builds and ventures.

I have limited knowledge and so I don't expect my DIY sub to be the ultimate sub for its price. I am sure to make a lot of noob mistakes along the way and hope that it will be a learning experience.

I had fixed a budget of about Rs 15000 for DIY sub and with the hope that I can build a reasonable sub for the price. Roughly Driver, Amp and cabinet split equally.

After research, I have found a 12 inch Dassaka driver (350W rms @ 8 ohms, 700W peak, sensitivity 98, B&C chassis, 3 inch voice coil, Glass Fibre CCA, 3 inch in/out, Magnet 190X85X25, Y35) priced around Rs 3500 per piece including shipping. The catch is that I have to buy two. There are no more technical details or parameters available at present.

I am touch with Extreme Audio New Delhi for a 500W rms amplifer board at a cost of Rs 6500 approximately. 1 board 10 transistor, 1 board 4 caps supply, torroidal transformer, 1 protection circuit.

I will attach pictures as time goes by.

I am Thrissur, Kerala and dont know how to get a decent sub cabinet/box made.

ANY IMPORTANT MISTAKES THAT I AM MAKING ETC OR ANY CHANGES CAN BE RECOMMENDED TO ME. I WOULD WELCOME IT.
Edit:
IMG-20200203-WA0005.jpgIMG-20200203-WA0006.jpgIMG-20200203-WA0004.jpgIMG-20200203-WA0007.jpgIMG-20200131-WA0014.jpg

Amplifier modules and Driver DX 12076 pictures attached. I hope you guys approve of it.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi
Vinod
You are bitten by DIYbug :D . Well go ahead and please do post pictures as you progress. My sincere well wishes for your endeavour.
Regards
Bhaskar

Hello friends in the forum and bassoholics,