buying from the US

pavanhifi

Hi All,

I am a newbie here. I will be going to the US for a short trip and would want to get some components for my home theater that I want to build. My question is what are the best pieces to buy ?

Some background information. My living room is appro 16' X 25'. I am ready to spend around 40K on the entire system including speakers, receiver and the cables. I am not an audiophile and not sure if I can really differentiate between various systems technically. So I want something which would sound good to my ears. I would probably do 50-50 music and movies and I have a Full HD 40" B650 Samsung TV at home.

Now given that, the question is what should I get from the US to ensure that I get best VFM. I would have a large size luggage dedicated for carrying the items, so size should not be a big concern. But at the same time, I am aware of the hassle of voltage conversion (though reading through this forum suggests that technically its not an issue and I should get the same sound quality as long as I use a right step-down xformer)

I am thinking of getting the 5.0 speaker set and cables from abroad and buy the receiver and the subwoofer here to avoid any voltage conversion issues. If so, what would be the best speakers I should buy and what should I get locally ? If not, what are the alternatives ? Also, has anyone has experience buying these components from Amazon and should I go to a local store for a better price ?

Thanks,
Pavan

My suggestion: The best VFM is to get a high end AVR from US.. voltage conversion is not an issue.. 110v/220v transformers are easily available.. It will be tough to carry speakers compared to an AVR.. You may get the speakers locally with a slightly higher cost.. savings on AVR will be much higher.. :)

edit: you may get 220v version AVR in US as well