Bypassing bluray player's DAC

ttarasu

Hi all
Am a complete novice in music equipments
My setup as follows Sony BDP s590-Denon x3100-Dali zensor 3-Velodyne impact 12.
Now I have planned for schiit modi2uber DAC

Will this benefit my sound improvement?

How can I bypass my bluray's DAC?

Source-from iTunes/WAV file/MP3
Thanks

TT

There must be a pass through option in the menu settings I hope. That should bypass all the players DAC's and send the signal unprocessed.

Any digital connection from the Blu-ray player to the DAC will bypass the internal DAC of the player. I would start with Toslink and Coaxial and take it from there.

Make sure the Schiit DAC is multibit.

Even though you may be using HDMI, it is the settings on the player which decides whether the player is doing the decoding or the AVR.

Generally speaking, a pass through is when the RAW signal is passed to the next product in the chain (usually the AVR) and it does the decoding, hence the AVR DAC's come into play.

Terms like pass through, bit streaming, PCM (pulse code modulation) etc are used to denote control of the decoding.

However, some players do the decoding themselves and let the consumer decide as to where he wants the decoding to be done.

To clarify, I had a Pioneer player which decoded up to DTS HD MA. So I used to decode all blu rays up to DTS HD MA and send analogue signals to my AVR as my AVR can decode up to DTS only.

I hope my explanation is clear to you.

My setup as follows Sony BDP s590-Denon x3100-Dali zensor 3-Velodyne impact 12.
Now I have planned for schiit modi2uber DAC

Will this benefit my sound improvement?