Can I ask for the information about the sound signature of various AVRs ?

vasishta.sushant

I am rather new in the arena so still trying to make myself conversant with the plethora of options available in the AVR space.

Bought the Onkyo 3300 a while back and realized that my preference is more towards the music. The stock AVR was good enough but somehow I was dependent on my HTPC to configure the sound to suit to my taste. Sold that one recently to a friend and I am back in the search for a new AVR (HTiB this time).

Have already Polk Audio Tsi 300 as my main speakers so looking for a nice companion for these only.

Also to remove the dependency on the HTPC (for music only), I am considering only the AVRs with USB input. Eying the Denon 1911, Marantz 1601, Yamaha 471 (yet to be launched) and Harman Kardon 133.

Out of these, Yamaha seems to be the best bet since it packs in much more in the least price (excluding HK since that doesn't even have HDMI). Can look at the option of buying the stuff from the US but then there are added hassles of step down converters etc which I would like to avoid.

For the moment, I would want to request you guys to suggest me how do the sound signatures of various AVRs vary ? Probably in the terms of what AVR will suit to what kind of music. Although I would like to pursue something that is good with the acoustic/jazz, I would still like to understand from the fellow owners what do they feel about about the stuff they own.

Suggestions about the best suitability with my current polks would be highly appreciated.

(BTW I'll also be buying Polk Audio center channel CS10 with the AVR. The Sub and the rears will come later, probably after a year).

SOund is very personal and preference for one may not be suitable for others.
I found Onkyo to be way bright , Denon good for Movies and Marantz better for Music.

So choose after Demo , thats all I can say.