Class D question for AVR experts

square_wave

Most entry to mid level av receivers seems to struggle with adequate power delivery across all channels. Sound quality is also just ok. Since good class D designs these days sound almost as good as high end class A/B ( many 2 channel purists agree ), why aren’t manufacturers not exploring this route? The issues with power supply size, weight, price etc can be easily solved with Class D. Or is good class D designs more expensive than class A/B implemented in entry to mid level avrs ? I hardly see any class D avrs.

This is my outsider opinion, I am no expert in anything :)

The focus in AVR segment is Audio & Video processing.
The big 5 are spending a lot of their resources in packing the latest/greatest tech into AVRs.
As far as power section is concerned, most of the HT market really doesn't care.
So mass market companies will stick to what they know (in house developed) and what sells.
The big 5 have, in total, 120+ years in class AB designs.
They probably believe that their cookie cut designs have at least 5-10 years more to live.

In the recent past, I think only NAD has done a completely flip.
All of their new designs are completely Class D.

Also good Class D tech may have steep tech licensing costs involved.
AVR makers are already paying a boatload of royalties towards audio/video technology.
I think it would be difficult to maintain the price point and unwise to support 2 lines of products.

So there goes me with my "market strategy hat"; Makes any sense .... :p

Cheers,
Raghu

This is my outsider opinion, I am no expert in anything :)

The focus in AVR segment is Audio & Video processing.
The big 5 are spending a lot of their resources in packing the latest/greatest tech into AVRs.
As far as power section is concerned, most of the HT market really doesn't care.
So mass market companies will stick to what they know (in house developed) and what sells.
The big 5 have, in total, 120+ years in class AB designs.