DIY Oxygen Concentrator

hydrovac

Hello,
I’m no expert at this... Just 48 hours ago when my medical friends suggested we pivot to open source OCs I had no idea how they worked. Turns out the theory is actually quite simple.
We are working on a project to build a high-purity oxygen concentrator system, a small-scale two-bed (PSA) process using zeolite 13X molecular sieve type to have a small layout for the plant.
To build a molecular sieve system and attain these levels, we need 13X sodium zeolite 0.5mm Pellet size

I would appreciate any assistance or information, anyone is able to provide regarding where to procure this crystalline mineral.

https://oxikit.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/OxiKit-DIY-Oxygen-Concentrator-15-LPM-High-Flow-Design-and-Schematics.jpg

Attachments

• OxiKit DIY Oxygen Concentrator 15 LPM High Flow Design and Schematics.pdf
    198.5 KB · Views: 92
Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks capt,

Could locate sources for all other parts, but still stuck at Zeolite.
There are couple of vendors on Trade India... not sure about the authenticity of the product though.

Finally sourced all the input parts required for the build... Solenoid valves, fittings, pneumatic tubing, compressor, Zeolite, Arduino Uno and relay board.

Build log:

First canister:
1600915725445.jpeg

Springs arrangement to keep the Zeolite compressed: (these are from a scrapped treadmill)
1600917553595.jpeg

1600917572778.jpeg

Second sieve, control valves and some fittings:
1600915831560.jpeg

1600916058847.jpeg

Trying frame layout:
1600916004874.jpeg

Simple steel frame with left over pine wood from my HT baffle wall:
1600916156439.jpeg

1600916331903.jpeg

1600916689585.jpeg

Fitted 2 pole mains MCB and 12VDC for controller/relay board, made a cooling coil with 3/8 inch copper tube:
1600916761621.jpeg

1600917003445.jpeg

Compressor and Zeolite arrived:
1600918139954.jpeg

1600918148974.jpeg

Will mount the compressor and fittings today and update:

Last edited: