DIY USB Network Media Player.

KiranPS

Hello Everyone,

I am posting after a long time. I wanted to announce that I am working on a Simple to use USB and Network Media player. I am a software engineer who loves audio. So in the last Two year I have been developing the software and the supporting Hardware for this.

image-18.png

I wanted it to be a Standalone player without the need for a smartphone ,
like a simple CD player , with the capability to play USB and NAS content over lan and Wifi.

Most streamers today are headless which means you need a smart phone just to set it up and to control it. Which I found a lot of people were not comfortable with.

I initially took a Costs No Object approach so even the power Caps are audiophile grade. Resistors are Vishay in the preamp.

image-19.png

I have a blog here,

Software:
I am not using Roon or VolumeIO or even MPD. I am using a customized RPI3 Raspbian based distro which we developed for Factory Automation that had read only root so could be switched off directly and a separate partition for persistence. I have a SDL based Control and UI app which talks to a gstreamer based custom player. The control app takes care of mounting the SMB , NFS volumes handles Bluetooth Dongle pairing, WIFI setup etc. Since I have a LCD and a rotary encoder the entire setup can be done using the front panel setting.
I also have included Shairport Sync for AirPort Support and uPNP. There is also an app in the Appstore for discovering the player in the LAN and controlling it from a smartphone.
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.godbtech.rasaplayer

I am planning to open source the software when its stable. Please feel free to contact me if you want more details.

Warm Regds,
Ravi Kiran.

This is really cool stuff Ravi... DAC hardware is also custom made here or you are using something like Allo/Hifiberry ?
Does USB also supports apple devices ?