Finally received approval from.... bought a 75inch LG TV - 75UN8000

argho

Well - it took a lot of effort to convince my wife that it was time to upgrade from our 65 inch TV to a 75 inch.
Finally got approval :)

I have been using a Sony 65 inch for the last 2 years, and have been very happy with it.
However, the price diff between a Sony 75 inch X80H (Rs 2.18 lacs) and the LG 75 inch UN80 (Rs 1.65 lacs) was just too much to ignore.

Not a fan of WebOS and the LG remote which keeps showing a mouse pointer and menus popping up.

Luckily, since I have an Nvidia Shield connected via an AV Receiver, I need to use the TV only as a display panel. So dont need to touch the remote.

I must say am very happy with the picture quality.

The "Standard" setting in LG (unlike Sony) has garish colours and is too bright.
But changing picture setting to "Cinema" changes to realistic colours , skin tones and brightness.

Feeling quite thrilled iwth the giant screen.

But have to say, any content below 1080p now looks too soft / not sharp.
On the 65 inch, even 720p looked fine.

Or is the Sony upscaling better ? Dont know.

Attachments

• WhatsApp Image 2020-09-07 at 8.46.47 PM.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2020-09-07 at 8.46.47 PM.jpeg
    83.8 KB · Views: 286
  • WhatsApp Image 2020-09-08 at 9.58.03 AM.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2020-09-08 at 9.58.03 AM.jpeg
    84.9 KB · Views: 283
Congrats man the tv looks quite bright and nice in the pictures attached.how is the picture quality and can you share your experience on night time movie watching? Currenlty sailing on the same boat. Looking for a good 75 inch tv. Did you enquire about samsung tu8000 75 inch? How is the experience going forward from 65 to 75 inch?

Movie watching at night is fine, in a room with normal light.

I needed a TV with wide viewing angles, that works fine in a room which is well lit.
Both the Sony X80H and the LG UN80 fit the bill.