Fostex Fe166En build

har297

Hi All..

After listening to a Full-range setup assisted by a Subwoofer, I was bitten by the magic of vocal reproduction by full-rangers, also this was a easier step in achieving better sound quality mainly because hassles of crossover design and tweaking is skipped. And any coloration it "may provide", i would skip about this as i am no expert in crossover design.

To realize this, best budget to performance ratio was found to be in Fostex drivers, with lot of documentation and measurements available across forums, as a next step, few drivers were shortlisted fe126en, fe166en & fe206en. All of these have been proven to provide excellent results if implemented right.

Then began finalizing the driver, as this may sound simple, but it took lot of going back and forth between these three.

Finally, after several months, as impulse order fe166en was bought, main reasons to choose 166 were relatively flat response compared to 206. Can try to avoid BSC as the main intention of trying a Full-range was to have no passive components between amp and driver. Even though 126 was a highly regarded driver, 166 proved to be a bit more robust in low end of the spectrum, this if we want to listen without any kind of bass assist, it can be manageable.

So now comes the tricky part of the build, choosing the enclosure.
I had a chance to listen to the BLH enclosure recommended by Fostex, this sounded really good, but i am not sure if there are any better designs (BK-16, Jericho, Metronome, etc).

So want to know if there are any recommendations for the enclosures.

Thanks
Har297

Here are the specs

Impedance - 8 ohms
SPL - 94dB/W(m)
Rated input - 22W
Sd - 0.0133m2
Zn - 8 ohms
Fs - 53 Hz
Re - 7.2 Ohms
Le - 0.052mH
Qms - 3.426
Qes - 0.266
Qts - 0.25
Mms - 6.8 g
BL - 7.65 Tesla/m
Xmax - 1 mm
Cms - 1.474 m/N
EBP - 199.25