Hello, recovering entry-level audiophile here

sid1712

Hi, as the post states, I am a recovering audiophile from Gurgaon. Recovering as I sold or gave away most of my older gear (mostly headphones, dac's, portable amps, etc) before covid when i started my post graduation as I did not have any time and needed the money. I then swore off everything audio related as I was spending most of my income on it (admittedly it wasn't much so I have never moved from mid-fi levels).

So, due to this lockdown, I started staying and working from home and my current headphones are driving me crazy as I cannot use the for long periods everyday. And now I'm starting again , this time with home audio and speakers.

Ever since my brother upgraded his audio system, i've been having an itch and I've decided to take baby steps into this area which I have little knowledge about. Instead of going all out with a basic receiver and some VFM bookshelves, I have decided to buy a pair of active speakers ever since I heard a pair. Maybe down the line i'll get a receiver or a DAC (the used Emotiva listed here is so tempting, but way outside of my budget. Something like the Topping E30 might be more in my range) and a subwoofer to give them some oomph.

I know that a receiver and passive speakers is the way to go but honestly, after hearing the Edifier S2000MkIII's, i'm in love and they're significant cheaper. As they will be placed in my bedroom with admittedly < 1m space behind them, I'm expecting some bloaty bass but I honestly don't mind it as I'm coming from a 6 year old Logitech Z623. Also, the ease of use is something that might be valuable if I upgrade down the line and give them to my parents who wont budge from their crappy Sony sound bar because it "works".

Thank you for listening to my rant :)

Cheers,
Sid

Welcome to the forum Sid! Thanks for joining!

Do you have a budget in mind that you can share? That would help with the suggestions.