Help setting up Denon 2113 + Airtel HD DVR + Panasonic Viera Plasma

ankitbhargava

A complete newbie to Hifi world

Just built up this set
Denon 2113CI A/V Receiver
Warfedale Obsidian 600 HT
Panasonic 42" Plasma (not sure of Model number but it has 1 HDMI Port)
and ofcourse Airtel HD DVR

I am trying to get the wiring system in Place and configuring the way I can enjoy HD Channels with proper Dolby.

I have connected this way
Airtel DVR -- Optical --- Denon AVR for Audio
Airtel -- HDMI -- TV for Video

I can experience 5.1 sound in selected HD Channels like Movies Now HD

Now I have got another problem to deal with :)

I just have 1 HDMI Port on my TV which is now directly connected with Airtel DVR for Video. If I have to play Movie on DVD or access the GUI of Denon ... I have to keep switching the HDMI cables into TV and Port is painfully located at the rear.

I also tried this way

Airtel DVR -- HDMI -- Denon AVR (purpose is to just send Video)
Airtel DVR -- Optical -- Denon AVR (for Audio)
Denon AVR - HDMI - TV (to display Video)

However in this scenario Denon AV Receiver is taking in sound and video both through HDMI (which does not output 5.1).

I tried some input setting in Denon AVR to configure the way that Airtel DVR -- HDMI -- Denon AVR for ONLY Video and Optical connection for Audio, however it dint work.

Any more ideas? Anyone who can help with configuring Denon 2113?

In Denon AVR there is option to assign optical/coaxial input to hdmi. Did you try that? If it doesn't work then buy a 4 port hdmi switch.

In Denon AVR there is option to assign optical/coaxial input to hdmi. Did you try that? If it doesn't work then buy a 4 port hdmi switch.

I tried the settings but unable to understand how to do it

In the Row it says Cbl/Sat should I select HDMI1 in HDMI and Opt in Digital?

Thanks for your response

I am sure I am mistaking somewhere configuring inputs

In the Row "Sat/Cab" under HDMI I chose "HDMI 1" and Digital I chose "Opt"