Hi from Kaustubh and a few questions from a layman

kausstubh

Hello All,

I am Kaustubh Ghotikar from Mumbai and I am happy to be here as part of hifivision and as a layman I have a few questions for the experts of our group

a) When it comes to speakers and amp manufacturers of Indian origin I only find four names such as Sonodyne, Norge, Lithos Audio and Cadence Audio. Why there are just four speaker and amplifier companies from India and What are they recognised for?

b) How are branded players such as JBL, Sony, Genelec amongst many others are different in sound than our Indian Peers?

C) And if any one of us have to start manufacturing speakers and amplifier systems from scratch what kind of expertise and investment are we looking at?

Thanks in advance and apologies for my limited knowledge of the sound systems. I will stay in touch

HI Kaustubh

All four companies do work in thier niche fields
Norge and Sonodyne make most of thier money with Pro Audio
SInce imported pro audio is not cost effective
i.e restaurants , offices hotels - just want a functioning music ambiance
Norge and sonodyne offer these solutions at a lower price as compared to imported counterparts
Plus since they are in India - sales service ( which is very important in hotel/commercial installations etc ) is taken care of easier and cheaper
I salute and look up to these guys for being in this difficult market and making their own segment
Though both these guys have also managed to make some really nice 2 channel stereo gear as well
theri build quality and finishing may not be as good as their imported peers - but then they are not as expensive too

Norge is a pretty decent entry into two channel stereo for an enthusisast

NOW
lithos on the other hand does make HT and stero stuff diretly in compettition t to the foreign brands
Though his stuff is good
he probably does face competition
since we are a brand crazy nation - " imported hai" - that commands a price

CADENCE