Hi from Kolkata, the city of joy

justgothere

Hello friends,

My respect & good wishes from Kolkata. I am a finance professional and father of two. I take my reading, travelling and photography very seriously and music plays a very big part in my life. I like to listen a broad selection of music and I am partial to "Queen" & "Pink Flyod" ( Who is not ? :D )

Till now due to shortage of space I was using Yamaha MCR 040 , a bookshelf mini player. I dabble a bit into headphones, I use Audio Technica ATH M50 with FiiO X3 and also play Senn HD 650 with Schiit Modi & Magni through my MAC and windows laptops.

Now I am constructing a 25 ft by 30 ft music room and would like to slowly build up a decent music system. My initial budget will be around Two lakhs and perhaps I can pump it up to 3 lakhs ( with hardship ) :sad:. I have time in my hand and would love to gain from the wealth of experience that you all possess. I would ideally finalise & buy into the system by October 2015. Till then I will keep asking all sorts of noob questions, in another thread :D

regards & bye
Somnath

Hello Sir,

Welcome to HFV. I am basically from Kolkata but recently shifted (just 3 months back) to Hyderabad with a new job. Good to have FMs from native town :)

The thing I want to ask you is whether or not you have listened to any hi-fi system that you liked. This is important to know the signature that you like. Good to know that you already have tasted Schiit Modi & Magni. So Schiit Gungnir should be on your radar.

I suggest you to open a new thread in proper section to take on this discussion further. A suggested thread is Stereo Hunt in Kolkata (60k) which should be interesting read for you and although the initial budget of the OP were 60K, he ended up many fold higher than that even with used gears.

Last edited:
Hello Sir,
I suggest you to open a new thread in proper section to take on this discussion further. A suggested thread is Stereo Hunt in Kolkata (60k)

Hi Koushik,