Home Theater Setup Around 60-70K

balzac

Hi All,

I am a novice to this fields and would like the guidance of the experts out here.

I have been doing some research to buy myself a home theater system. I have room size of 12x12 (one side is the window pane and other open to the dinning section). Effective viewing distance is 10ft on a 40inch television with source being my HTPC (Intel NUC). My usage is 75% is Movies and 25% Audio.

So, I would break my questions in the following sections:

>> Buying Guide:
-- Is there some price ratio which should be maintained between the AVR and the Speakers? I mean 40-60 (40% on AVR and 60% on Speakers)

-- Should I go for a 5.1 Speaker system?

>> AVR Option:
-- In my findings I found the Denon 520BT to be a value for money. Are there are other alternative or would Denon suffice?

>> Speakers:
-- This is where it gets really confusing for me. There are just SOO MANY BRANDS. JBL, Tannoy, Paradigm, Focal, etc.

Can you suggest some good satellite speakers.

>> Dealers:
-- Is buying for "Alpha Store" in Mumbai, a good option?
-- How is "Fair Deal" in Mumbai? How is the
-- Any suggestions for good dealers in Pune? I have been to AVxcellence, Soundscape and Sound Factor.

>> My Combination:
-- Denon 520BT + JBL 610 Cinema Speakers
-- Onkyo 343 + Paradigm 5.1 Speakers
-- Has anyone gone for this pairing? How do you find the same?

I request you all to help me out in this.

Thanks!

Hi

The options mentioned by you are good. Entry level home theatre systems like the Yamaha 299 start from 35k+ and there are a lot of combinations of AVRs and Speakers available in the market.....Mumbai has a lot of dealers where you can come and audition and decide for yourself......end of the day....you are gonna use it yourself....