How to choose correct Drivers for DIY speakers? need advice

spirovious

Hi friends,

I am very new to this section of forum.May there others too who may need to know the subject.I have been reading other sites & learnt that one should get correct driver combination to get good sound out.

Some of the facts that if someone need detailed sound(said to sound bright),he has to choose probably Aluminum Tweeter.
Silk Dome Tweeter can sound silk,but can roll of the high frequencies(called as warm sound).

Now there are some more facts we all would like to know from DIY experts.like-

1.How to combine the Driver?Selection?
This is very important as if we select the 2 way combo just by reading the specifications,final sound can be just Headache.There may not be a coordination between Bass & Treble sound.The drivers can behave like individual units.

2.How to select sensitivity of Drivers?
Now sensitivity of woofer can be different that the tweeter.eg-
Woofer can have sensitivity of 90db & tweeter can have 88db.So does that mean woofer can be dominant here?In opposite situation, will tweeter output more than woofer?

3.How to selecting Driver material?
This is also can be a must know point.If we select aluminum tweeter & woofer also made of light aluminum ,then will the final sound ear fatigue?
Is it wise to select silk dome tweeter with that to balance sound?
The same way a Kevlar woofer always sound good with aluminum tweeter?

4.Crossover?
How to select this?Is it the blind way to have separation point at overlapping frequencies of individual drivers?
Say woofer has the top frequency output of 3k & the tweeter starting point around 1k.So will it be 2k as straight option?

5.The perfect sound?
Finally is there any best combination of Drivers which can be paired with warm as well bright sounding stereo amp?(so called neutral sound).
I have found that polk RTi series is paired with Denon,Onkyo,Yamaha easily without missing details.