How to setup ONKYO 3500 Speaker Setting ?

Abhilash Anne

Hello All ,

I am new to these HT settings , i have recently purchased ONKYO 3500 and the connections given to that are
Input
1. DVD player ( HDMI )
2.Reliance STB-HD ( HDMI )
3.Chrome Cast ( HDMI )
4.Laptop ( HDMI )
5.Digital Optical Fiber ( Running from TV to reciever )
OUTPUT
1.Samsung LCD 40' ( HDMI without ARC support )
The Problem I am facing is
-No matter what input i give to the receiver i am able to see only " PCM " on my reciever . Unable to change it to dobly , dts etc .
-Unable to get Surround Sound , even though i play files( which support surround sound ) from my LAPTOP

Help !!!

Hello All ,

I am new to these HT settings , i have recently purchased ONKYO 3500 and the connections given to that are
Input
1. DVD player ( HDMI )
3.Chrome Cast ( HDMI )
4.Laptop ( HDMI )
OUTPUT
-No matter what input i give to the receiver i am able to see only " PCM " on my reciever . Unable to change it to dobly , dts etc .
-Unable to get Surround Sound , even though i play files( which support surround sound ) from my LAPTOP

Help !!!

No worries.. You need to change the audio output settings in your TV... Default is PCM.... Try changing other options in the setting & you shoul be able to see DTS & DD Logo on your AVR....

Thanks for the reply
@ Elangoas - I chked with that option too , i see Dolby digital and Dts in the tv sound setting but those are disabled . The only option enabled is PCM .

Connect STB digital out directly to AVR as mostly DD/DTS is not sent over HDMI.Few can,but you need to check.

Thanks for the reply
@ Elangoas - I chked with that option too , i see Dolby digital and Dts in the tv sound setting but those are disabled . The only option enabled is PCM .

So my guess is that you need to tweak some other audio settings in the TV which will enable the multichannel out from TV.

Hello All ,

Input
1. DVD player ( HDMI )
3.Chrome Cast ( HDMI )
4.Laptop ( HDMI )
OUTPUT

Help !!!