• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

Htpc for 4k movies

Wharfedale EVO4.4 Speaker

Neeraj0272

Hi all
I had been using amd e350 htpc for past several years and it served me well for past 7 years. Now it has almost died and its time to move on.
Now I have got new 4k smart tv which is a complete package in itself. But I liked the versatility of my little htpc using it as a server for my squeezebox, download rig, movies playback, media, documents and file storage and occasionally doing duties as Windows pc. So I would like the same kind of little htpc but with 4k playback capability.
I want to look at 2 different options.
1. 4k upgraded version of e350 meaning low power pc which can be kept on 24/7.
2. Full gaming pc with a powerful graphics card.
Thing is that it will be in my bedroom and if I go with option 1 I want it to be absolutely quiet. I would prefer it to be fan less.
If I go for option 2 and then I will keep it on only when I use it so it should be very quiet. For option 2 I have another pc which will then do the duty of download rig and media server.
Now I have very limited space in my TV cabinet - 15" deep, 7.5" height, 20" width. I have to work within these constraints.
For option 1 I am willing to spend upto 15k for case, cpu + motherboard and ram. I have an hdd and keyboard with me.
For option 2 I can go higher upto 30 to 40k.
Please suggest options for me.

Bhoot

Hi all
I had been using amd e350 htpc for past several years and it served me well for past 7 years. Now it has almost died and its time to move on.