Into the Vinyl world!! Where to start? - absolute beginner

noblejose

Hello all!

The title says it all! - Need your expert advise on starting the vinyl journey.

- Need advise on a good TT to start with (Pro-Ject Debut III, carbon, with OM10, Rega.. etc comes to my mind); From where to get it at reasonable cost. Looking for New or near mint condition TT - preferably in black color.

The Pro-Ject Debut Carbon (DC) OM10 is costing 42K from HifiMart :sad: I've seen Marantz TT5005 for less than half price, but I do want a good quality TT that can serve me long time.

- Need to get some good Vinyls Records to start with; from where to source?? I am not much interested in buying big lot of used LPs.. I would like to stick with limited numbers good quality (physical) and would like to collect the tracks/ artists those I like. Used LPs - I'm looking for VG+ and above only.

(I am using streaming radio/ internet for music discovery - playing form youtube/ tunein radio/ with my laptop/tab/tv to DAC > Amp > Speaker)

What other things that I need to keep in mind? I'm planning to use my existing stereo chain - Marantz PM6004 (has phono input); KEF Q300.

Many Thanks!!

A Project is a good point to enter this stream. The one for sale shown above seems a good option. With luck you may be able to get something for a bit less.

However while I would encourage you to buy used, a vintage table (as in 40 years old) may not be a good idea for a beginner, since they require a lot of tweaking.

You must be knowing Rhythm House Mumbai is closing down this February end. They have some Project turntables for sale on discount price. If am not wrong the price of Rs 29k is slashed to Rs18k.

They are not shown on their website, but if you call them they may provide you with necessary details.

If interested please hurry as I think the last date of closing is very near.