is Harman/Kardon AVR 134 a decent AV receiver...

thedbguy

Hi Friends,

initially planned to go for a used receiver. but recently I have an offer of Harman/Kardon AVR 134 (new,with bill, waranty) for ~12k.

this is a basic 5.1 receiver, 100Wx5 channels, all DTS/DD modes,HDMI o/p, 6 ohms imp.
(this is more or less my requirement also)

pardon me. i'm new to HT. whether Harman/Kardon receiver are good ? i've heard onkyo/denon/yamaha/pioneer receivers, but not Harman/Kardon. i'm not able to find any reviews for this product. even Harman/Kardon india website does not list this model !!!
is this a good price to purchase ?

planning to pair it with Wharfadale 9.2 or MA BR2

any experts comment on Harman/Kardon line of budget receivers ?

Thanks

whether Harman/Kardon receiver are good ? i've heard onkyo/denon/yamaha/pioneer receivers, but not Harman/Kardon.

Thanks

I dont know about the particular model in question.

However I have the following and using it for the last 5 years.

Amazon.com: Harman Kardon AVR330 7.1-Channel A/V Receiver (Gray/Black): Electronics

I brought it from the US and using it with step down and it has been working fine.

I do not know enough to compare with other companies like Denon, Onkyo etc. However from what I have read and heard, HK is supposed to be conservative on their wattage ratings. It means that what they advertise will be close to actuals.

Therefore need to attach HDMI and optical/coaxial both cables?

Yes. You will need to connect HDMI for video and optical or coaxial for audio. I would recommend newer avrs like yamaha 371, denon 1312 etc. for your use.

Hi... I am confused... that HDMi has only video and no audio.... Do u mean to say that... If i connect my PS3 and my set top box in the AVR via a HDMI or RAC component cable... and then connect my AVR to my TV with only an HDMI cable... i will be able to see the video or the game.. but audio wont be there...