Is this Thaikkudam bridge performance live or lipsync?

arnprasad

Got pulled into the Kantara song copying controversy and was bowled over by both the song and the official music video of navarasam and I am an uncle who has been listening to heavy metal since Metallica released the black album way back in 1990 when we also got cable tv in India :)

This performance seems too good to be true. I dont recall any live recording of Lata or MSS that was so close to their master recording. What do you think? May be the audience in the mall did hear them live but this video has the master recording? My ear couldn't catch even a wrong note which is just impossible in a live performance. I am no audio expert..just a layman's observation

Last edited:
Got pulled into the Kantara song copying controversy and was bowled over by both the song and the official music video of navarasam and I am an uncle who has been listening to heavy metal since Metallica released the black album way back in 1990 when we also got cable tv in India :)

This performance seems too good to be true. I dont recall any live recording of Lata or MSS that was so close to their master recording. What do you think? May be the audience in the mall did hear them live but this video has the master recording? My ear couldn't catch even a wrong note which is just impossible in a live performance. I am no audio expert..just a layman's observation

With the advent of digital methods, layering of sound is not restricted to the recording studio. Various tracks can be added to the sound and mixed conveniently at the desk, even during a live performance. Most bands (both on the Indian scene and internationally) use this method especially on drums, keyboads, guitars and general sound effects. The areana or stadium rock experience can also be created easily in a live setting.