Issues with Cambridge audio Minx Xi

deepak.nair

Hi everyone, i have been using a Minx Xi for about 4 years now. Got it from Hi-Fi Mart. It worked properly for 3 years . The rest of the time its been giving me nothing but trouble. Right from day 1 , it had software related issues. When accessing certain function in the menu , it would freeze and after sometime it would go for a reboot. I sent it for service the first week itself.They said nothing is wrong and sent it back (back then it was fx-entertainment) , but the problem remained the same. i emailed CA and after many software updates the menu freeze problem got rectified. It ran for 2 years without any issue. Then started a new problem. During playback , the sound would start distorting / breaking up sometimes even the pitch of the song changes. I thought it could be some cable issues. Checked speaker cables , Changed the power cables. Switched the player to my office...tried everything with no remedy. So i sent the player to Delhi ( Audiophile India) the current service provider. They evaluated the machine for 4 days and sent it back to me saying , it was running fine . I was surprised to find that the problem with player remained the same even worsened . I have recorded many audio clips. I contacted Audiophile India again, only this time they said, CA has discontinued the product and the only remedy would be to replace the board ( 25k INR) which is subject to availability and said they will call me back ,which has not happened as of today. The reason for this post is to know anybody in this forum had similar experience with Minx Xi or Cambridge audio in general. Is CA an unreliable brand ? . Any experience with Audiophile India ? I just cant accept the reality that a machine worth 50K getting bricked in 3 years of usage. I would like to post the audio clips by don't know how to .

Hi

Sad to hear your experience......