Jamo C405/407, Wharfedale 9.6 ... or a 9.5?

milestoneseeker

Hi Folks,

I am a newbie and on a hunt for my first component system. While I love my music, I am foreseeing a 60-40 usage for music-movies. Hence, I am looking for an AVR + a pair of speakers to begin with.

I initially toyed with the idea of BS speakers but then decided for FS. That said, I have heard the following:

1. Tsi300
  2. Wharfdale 9.5
  3. Wharfdale 9.6
  4. Jamo C407

Tsi300 were more like starting points and I have not really considered them post the first session :)

C407 were again not planned but when I did hear them (paired with some Onkyo AVRs ... though not SR607 for sure), I found them to be surprisingly nice ! I did some further research and read that they are actually pretty good FS. Punchy bass and nice mid range was my impression. But would they be labelled as bright speakers? I am not hung up on warm vs. bright terms but want to get a feel of what I hear vs. the terms :)

Since I had heard so much about the 9.5s, I then decided to look them up. TBH, when I heard them, I was kind of disappointed. Maybe C407 was not the right base for this audition? I had the rxv371 hooked up to 9.5.

I decided to listen to 9.6 immediately after 9.5. I found 9.6 having a better balance of music and the voice. As if, 9.5 was falling short of reproducing some of the instruments which 9.6s could. But I still found 9.6 trailing 407. However, since I heard the 9.6 on rx-v371 and not on 471, I am hoping a combo of 471+9.6 would sound better?

I am planning to go back and do an audition of Denon 1612/Jamo 407, Yamaha rxv471/Diamond 9.6.

But wanted to get opinion from the experienced folks on this forum all the same.

Btw, I am planning for a max budget of 40k for a pair of FS.

For AVR, I am going to decide between 1612, 1911 (if I can get one cheap) or v471.

Cheers
Rishi

hi,

Pl. try to audition as many speakers in various price range and then take a call.