KEF R series

htlover

Hi im not an expert in home theater but a lover of it. had a much confused reading over several web pages and gone through number of reviews. i have read revies of monitor audio silver aswell as gold series, B&W 600 and cm series, Focal chorus etc etc. finally on some advise i purchased KEF R series ie kef r500 fs, r200c center and r100 rears to be driven by yamaha avantage 3010 receiver. i dont have any dedicted ht room but a general urpose drawing room. im using the system since about two months. the speakers are not fully burnt yet. my main use is cinema songs and movies over cable tv and occasionally thru dvd palyer. i doubt whether i had a good system or not. kindy express your opinions over this kef r series general performance.
thanks in advance

You sound like you are not too happy with the sound of the KEF's. Would you tell us what you don't like about it's sound ? Although I am not an expert, my guess for unsatisfactory sound would be your source, ie, Cable TV.

I would suggest that you listen to some of your favorite songs on CD or watch some of your favorite movies on DVD and then let us know if you still think that the sound is bad.

There is a huge 2 part thread on AVForums on the R Series. Do take a look.

KEF R series.............? | AVForums.com - UK Online

Kef "R" Series Part 2. | AVForums.com - UK Online

The KEF R500, R200 etc is on my wishlist too.

Last edited:
hi thanks for repley. yes there are different opinions on the r series. may be im expecting too much from an average source like cable tv. or may be that i have not maDE THE SET UP in full. i have not yer run the yamaha mic setup. considering that its a 9 channel system will it benefit by biamping the front mains and biwiring the center and rears

considering that its a 9 channel system will it benefit by biamping the front mains and biwiring the center and rears