Looking for my first turntable

samvee

hello,

i am looking to buy my very first TT. i have no experience with this stuff, but i recently discovered a large collection of old LPs that belonged to my great grandmother and cannot stop thinking about what is on them.

i went into the ProFX store today to look at the Denon DP 29F and have been having a big debate about whether i should hold out to find a really good vintage TT or whether i should cave and get this one. if i were to be totally honest, one of my biggest issues is that i hate how plastic it looks and i would love something with a more solid construction and old timey look. my other concern is that having had no experience with this analogue, i do want something fairly easy to use. the denon is also around 11K and i was hoping it would be a bit cheaper.

what i am really hoping for is someone to convince to get the denon or for a nice, well informed collector on this forum to sell me a wonderful working vintage TT and set me off on my analogue explorations :)

Anyone?

PS: i own an amplifier and some speakers

I would say, stay away from the Denon.. For the same budget or a little more stretched you could lay your hands on some beautiful Japanese vintage TTs.. You could search for a Pioneer or Technics direct drive TT. Or if you want something new, stretch your budget and go in for an entry level Rega or Project. I am sure other FMs would pitch in with better suggestions giving you plenty of options!
Cheers

I would say, stay away from the Denon.. For the same budget or a little more stretched you could lay your hands on some beautiful Japanese vintage TTs.. You could search for a Pioneer or Technics direct drive TT. Or if you want something new, stretch your budget and go in for an entry level Rega or Project. I am sure other FMs would pitch in with better suggestions giving you plenty of options!
Cheers