Mono Blocks vs 2 Channel Power Amp

Vivek Batra

Hi FMs

I am quite new to this domain of hi end gear but not new to music. I have Denon 4500H to drive my Klipsch RP- 8000F and I am quite not happy as this was not the intention (Intention was a stereo integrated amp but somehow a wrong decision.). So thinking of doing away with AVR and going for separates. I have been reading around and watching some youtube videos on mono block amps and power amps. Will it really makes a difference by going mono vs 2 channel power amp? 200 wpc mono vs 400 wpc stereo power amp?

One thing that is not in my control is to find a dealer that could arrange a demo to compare this scenario. I am helpless on this until and unless I flew out of my city to find a dealer.

I am sure I will take away a good amount of knowledge from this forum and will be able to spend wisely.

Looking at the specifications, your speakers are an easy load and very efficient, so do not require 200 watts of power, let alone 400wpc, unless you want to listen at ear bleeding levels.
You may not get much by changing from Denon AVR to another solid state amplifier.
If I were in your position, I would rather try a tube amplifier.
Even a low powered tube amp will be a big change especially because the speakers can be bi-amped.

Looking at the specifications, your speakers are an easy load and very efficient, so do not require 200 watts of power, let alone 400wpc, unless you want to listen at ear bleeding levels.
You may not get much by changing from Denon AVR to another solid state amplifier.
If I were in your position, I would rather try a tube amplifier.
Even a low powered tube amp will be a big change especially because the speakers can be bi-amped.