My fiberglass speaker stands

t.antony

This project is linked to my MTM speaker project as it needed a stable and good looking stand that goes with the design of the speakers.

I chose to go with the oval shaped center column because of it's lack of specific resonance modes compared to a circular pipe.Also for a given footprint the oval shape looks sleeker :)

The choice of fiberglass is due to the flexibility of the material and the fact that I have an expert to help me with the build. He is a sculptor and artist by profession and is the major contributor for this project. Without his help and active participation, this project would not have panned out.

We used the classic method for designing these ie, first make a model in clay, take a mold, get a piece from the mold, perfect the design in that piece and then take another mold for the final piece. The final piece is then polished and painted. This is by far the most complex and labor intensive DIY project I have done so far.

Here is the picture of the mold of the base and the first piece taken from it, ready for next phase of finishing

76704968.jpg

Finishing on process,excess putty is being chipped off before it's fully dry, it will be sanded to get the contours correct,

15957723f.jpg

Picture of the center column and one of the molds used for making it, we spent a lot of time perfecting this profile and 3 molds had to be taken before arriving at this shape. It was a rewarding experience and I got a hang of designing and prototyping prior to the CAD.

48417578.jpg

A mockup of the stand and the center column attached, lot of sanding needed for both the parts before the final mold can be taken.

70410095.jpg

24569960.jpg

Last edited:
T Antony,

Hats off to you & your dedication, passion & DIY Spirit :)

Am eagerly awaiting to see the finished product, hopefully listen to it too when I am next in blr.

Best Wishes