My obervations using beresford Caiman...

s_sachin

Guys ,

I have been owning the beresford DAC for about 4 months now, just wanted to share some observations and get inputs from you. Like to mention that I have rookie ears :) for music listening and others may have a different opinion. So please bear/take my observations with a pinch of salt :)

Speakers : Wharfedale 91.
Amp : NAD 325

In order of listenening goodness :)
1. Onida DVD player -dig coaxial-DAC-AMP-SPK : Best
2. HTPC (Gibabyte785)(foobar/mediamonkey) - usb - DAC -AMP-SPK
3. WD TV (music stored on 2 TB NAS - both wired ) - dig toslink - DAC -AMP-SPK : Least best

I have been trying to play around with add-in's lately (WASAPI for foobar) etc. Need to hear for some more time to make a conlusion if that has improved sound.

Some inputs/feedback required (and apologies as i am sure this has been discussed before:()
1. I also have digital out from HTC, trying that option as well. Will that work better than USB ?
2. I would really like to use WDTV for sheer convinience and the streaming radio options it gives. Any chance of improving the sound source from here ?
3. Should i invest in a dedicated CD player (with or without a DAC) ? I have loads of mp3/FLAC's so not really liking this option.

cheers !
Sachin

Good to see your observations, @s_sachin.

I'd done a similar comparo just for fun about a week back. You can read about it here: http://www.hifivision.com/my-audio-video-setup/17554-making-baby-steps-into-hi-fi-3.html#post242351

My comparison was between:
WDTV > Optical > Caiman > Nad 326 > PSB Image B6, and
Philips DVDP > Coaxial > Caiman > Nad 326 > PSB Image B6.

I used a CD in the Philips DVDP and 5 FLACs in the WDTV (the same FLACs were used to burn the CD).

This is what I wrote in my post: