• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

need for A/C stablilizer?

gobble

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
5,467
Points
113
Location
Bangalore
Hi folks
I was looking at some A/C models and they come with built-in stablizers already. Yet the A/C vendo is insisting on an extra external stablizer to protect the PCBs . Is that really needed? Is the built-in stabilizer only good for the compressor?

Thanks
 
SPONSORED ADS

SPONSORED ADS

gobble

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
5,467
Points
113
Location
Bangalore
You get inverter models but most would still recommend an external Stab.
That is exctly my question - what is the problem with internal stabilizer only setup? Or is it just an opportunity to make more sales?

G
 

mathan

Active Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
520
Points
28
Location
Chennai
That is exctly my question - what is the problem with internal stabilizer only setup? Or is it just an opportunity to make more sales?

G
I too thought the same when I bought the inverter model a/c and did not install any external stablizer. The problem surfaced when there is a voltage fluctuation and the a/c automatically switched off as it was not able to boost the voltage or regulate it. The same happened when there was high voltage also. I had to install a premier 4KV voltage stablizer which costs around Rs.1200. The problem was solved after installing this stablizer. I think the inbuilt stablizer in the inverter a/c is good enough as long as there is no voltage fluctuation.
 

mshifi

Active Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2012
Messages
711
Points
43
Location
hyderabad
That is exctly my question - what is the problem with internal stabilizer only setup? Or is it just an opportunity to make more sales?

G
Most of the inbuilt motors operate between 190 - 260. Any variation beyond this cannot is not safe for the motors as they do not trip.you need to provide an external device to handle the variations.
 

gobble

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
5,467
Points
113
Location
Bangalore
Ok but the stablizer the a/c shop is recommending is outside the upper range of the inbuilt stab. The a/c has 160-260V range while the 3rd party stab is 140-270V. So the device will not protect in case of over-voltage is that correct?

G
 

mshifi

Active Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2012
Messages
711
Points
43
Location
hyderabad
the supply to the ac unit would be through the stabilizer, so any overload on the unit the stabilizer would trip.
 

sunilkm

Active Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
971
Points
43
Location
Bangalore
I have checked Panasonic Interter models during the weekend. It is mentioned on the A/C and brochure that no external stabilizer is needed and it can take the voltage fluctuation ( 145v - 285v range )
 

gobble

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
5,467
Points
113
Location
Bangalore
Right so to conclude - one should go for a stab if the operating range of the inbuilt stab is limited - like 150-265V, then go for a stab covering a wider range. I saw one Voltas a/c that has a built-in stab covering 100-290 which is great, all others are in the range 140-265 typically.

~1.4k is piddle compared to the cost of an a/c better peace of mind.

Cheers
G
 
SPONSORED ADS

dipdawiz

Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
70
Points
18
Location
Bangalore
Is that really needed? Is the built-in stabilizer only good for the compressor?
Using multiple branded AC (2 Whirlpool, voltas, toshiba) in different cities (Kolkata and Bangalore) without stabilizer for past 7~8 years, no issues so far on any of the ACs. For us also salesman insisted on voltage stabilizer, but never went for them.
 

Nikhil

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 8, 2007
Messages
2,548
Points
113
Location
Hyderabad
Based on our Indian power conditions, I would recommend using an external stabilizer for your ACs.
I used V Guard stabilizers when I got my household appliances about 10 years ago.

You normally don't see voltage fluctuations but on the occasion that it happens you will be grateful that you have one.
In my place we can get fluctuations from the supply transformer when the transformer goes low on oil for example.
When that happens you would rather see the voltage stabilizer getting hammered than your AC units.

At about Rs 1,000 -1,200 per unit you really shouldn't even bother about it.


.
 
SPONSORED ADS

Top