• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

need for A/C stablilizer?

gobble

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
5,467
Points
113
Location
Bangalore
Hi folks
I was looking at some A/C models and they come with built-in stablizers already. Yet the A/C vendo is insisting on an extra external stablizer to protect the PCBs . Is that really needed? Is the built-in stabilizer only good for the compressor?

Thanks
 
SPONSORED ADS

SPONSORED ADS

gobble

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
5,467
Points
113
Location
Bangalore
You get inverter models but most would still recommend an external Stab.
That is exctly my question - what is the problem with internal stabilizer only setup? Or is it just an opportunity to make more sales?

G
 

mathan

Active Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
513
Points
28
Location
Chennai
That is exctly my question - what is the problem with internal stabilizer only setup? Or is it just an opportunity to make more sales?

G
I too thought the same when I bought the inverter model a/c and did not install any external stablizer. The problem surfaced when there is a voltage fluctuation and the a/c automatically switched off as it was not able to boost the voltage or regulate it. The same happened when there was high voltage also. I had to install a premier 4KV voltage stablizer which costs around Rs.1200. The problem was solved after installing this stablizer. I think the inbuilt stablizer in the inverter a/c is good enough as long as there is no voltage fluctuation.
 

mshifi

Active Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2012
Messages
686
Points
43
Location
hyderabad
That is exctly my question - what is the problem with internal stabilizer only setup? Or is it just an opportunity to make more sales?

G
Most of the inbuilt motors operate between 190 - 260. Any variation beyond this cannot is not safe for the motors as they do not trip.you need to provide an external device to handle the variations.
 

gobble

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
5,467
Points
113
Location
Bangalore
Ok but the stablizer the a/c shop is recommending is outside the upper range of the inbuilt stab. The a/c has 160-260V range while the 3rd party stab is 140-270V. So the device will not protect in case of over-voltage is that correct?

G
 

mshifi

Active Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2012
Messages
686
Points
43
Location
hyderabad
the supply to the ac unit would be through the stabilizer, so any overload on the unit the stabilizer would trip.
 

sunilkm

Active Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
963
Points
43
Location
Bangalore
I have checked Panasonic Interter models during the weekend. It is mentioned on the A/C and brochure that no external stabilizer is needed and it can take the voltage fluctuation ( 145v - 285v range )
 
SPONSORED ADS

Top