Need help for basic HTPC

mgdelhi

Hi guys.

First of all let me tell you that I am total newbie in field of HTPC. I have occasionally read few posts about them.

I have recently upgraded my computer and it left some hardware with me. After reading some posts today on the forum, suddenly I thought that there is a possibility that I can use my existing hardware to make an entry level HTPC. Then I read more threads on HTPC.

This is just for trial purpose and not for my main set-up. So, I can compromise on looks and speed.

List of my existing hardware:

* Intel Core2 Duo E4500 2.2 GHz Processor
* Gigabyte GA-G31M-ES2L Motherboard
* 2GB DDR2 RAM
* PowerColor HD4350 512MB HDMI Graphic Card.
* 500GB 2.5 SATA Internal HDD
* An entry level iBall Cabinet / SMPS.
* Logitech wireless keyboard / mouse

I am going to connect this HTPC to Denon 1312 and 32 1080p LCD. (These things already have a APC 1100 VA UPS).

I want to have DTS-HD-MA and Dolby True-HD but with the minimum knowledge I gathered (which could be wrong), I understand that HD4350 cant do it. The bare minimum is HD5450 for that. So, the initial setup is going to be with HD4350 and if I like everything else, I will buy HD5450 (1.8k on flipkart).

I have legal Windows XP, Windows 7 Windows 8 keys. Which one will be the best for XBMC with above configuration.

Please suggest me what other hardware/software do I need. Any link for remote controller will be highly appreciated. And if that remote and sensor are Logitech harmony compatible, nothing like it. :)

The above hardware is very good for htpc purpose. As you pointed out you will need a new GPU to enjoy HD audio. But how many HD audio movies you have?

As per discussions in XBMC forum, Windows 8 is a very good platform for xbmc. It has much faster bootup time than Win7. I will suggest either Windows 7 or 8.

There is one HP MCE remote control for sale in the forum by FM 'YPS'. It is a very good remote control and is compatible with Logitech Harmony.