Need help to choose between Tannoy and Jamo

devstation18

Hi All

I am just taking baby steps in a proper home theater , heard these two floor standers Tannoy Mercury V4i and Jamo S 626 ,would request friends from the forum to please help in choosing between these two .
Appreciate if you also share your own experience with these speakers .
Personally I liked the balance of the tannoy speakers .. since I am a novice in these field request your suggestions.
Suggestion on other brands are also welcome

Thanks

Hi All

I am just taking baby steps in a proper home theater , heard these two floor standers Tannoy Mercury V4i and Jamo S 626 ,would request friends from the forum to please help in choosing between these two .
Appreciate if you also share your own experience with these speakers .
Personally I liked the balance of the tannoy speakers .. since I am a novice in these field request your suggestions.
Suggestion on other brands are also welcome

Thanks

as per reviews available on the net...tannoy is any day better than Jamo.

cheers
dheeraj

I have listened to the Tannoy v4i speakers, and also a wide range of Jamos. I also own a pair of Tannoy FS speakers. I would pick the Tannoys anyday, they are definitely more musical. But not very powerful in the bass department. The Jamo S 626 should give you a stronger bass response, but imho will not be as refined as the Tannoys.

So plan based on what kind of an overall setup you want eventually. And how much of music vs Action Movies you will be using your speakers for.

You can also consider the Wharfedale Diamond 10.4 as another option. There are ofcourse numerous other brands in the <50k price point.

Thanks to all

Thanks to Acuity for the detailed analysis ,
As per query my usage will be 60 pct Music 40 pct movies.
So need to zero in on something tht will serve both purpose .