Need help with cables for my first stereo system

Bloom@83

Banned
Banned
Hi All

I'm a newbie to the hi-fi stereo space. This forum has been a great help to me in finalizing my first set up.I have ordered a Wharfedale 225 bookshelf ,a Marantz PM5005 , and the Pioneer BDP-180 Blu Ray player as source.

I would like to know what are the different cables I need to buy , price etc.I do not have any extravagant budget for this - max I can shell out is 1.5K - 2 K.

Thanks in advance

You need speaker cables and Interconnects between your Pioneer and Marantz. For Rs 2000 budget for both of these cables buy MX cables , they are great for the price they come. Look for Speaker cables with high quality copper with 14/16AWG or lower.

MX is really great quality. I used their cables to hook up my bose to my amp. I went to their head office at Andheri West. The owner himself helped me with all my requirements. They even made the custom length cables with the appropriate jacks as per my specifications. Apart from cables I picked up step down transformers as my amp and speakers are 110V.

I Second MX Speaker Cable and Interconnects as Well They well suit for entry and budget system. Interconnect would be around Rs 250 1M and Speaker cables would be 500 for 15 M , Which I got.

All the Best, You could check the ebay for cables, Best.

Do I need to purchase any jacks ?

If you can get Banana plugs from MX for speaker cables , they will prevent oxidization of bare copper wires and retain the sound quality over the years. Go to Sreeji in Chandni market to get your MX cables and Speaker Cables. The MX distributor is also present next to Sabir Hotel in Chandni itself.

https://www.google.co.in/url?sa=t&r...-lll8KGik3OJ9usLy4m-jQ&bvm=bv.125221236,d.c2I

Theres a guy here in Kolkata who does excellent termination with sleeves , if you want I can PM you his number.

Last edited: