Need to Refoam My Logitech Z5500D Surround for One Satellite. Plz Guide !

indiglo

My 5/6 year old Logitech z5500d is showing signs of aging... in one of the satellite speakers,the surround foam has broken off from the spkr mount at various places & the sound is getting distorted,scratchy or sounds broken at various frequencies,...particularly at higher volumes!:sad::(

So,i think refoaming the satellite is the only solution.

But the Big problem is ,i have no previous experience of such job,...neither do i know where to get the replacement foam for the Logitech Z5500D Satellite speaker from?:confused:

watched a couple of yotube videos on sub refoaming,but that's it,...but honestly have no idea should i do the job or more appropriately can i DIY Or do i need to take it to a electronic repair shop?

Spoke to local logitech ppl(savex india)..they said they dont do repair jobs ,only replacements of products/speakers & that too within warranty period !...so basically,i'm left in the lurch, buying such a expensive p.c speaker system,...& desperately seeking service without any official help!

So, friends,can u help me out! :sos:

edit : Added 35sec FHD youtube link regarding this issue (dont know if u can decipher the issue of bad audio from here,but still...) Logitech Z5500D satellite speaker sounding scratchy & Bad due to speaker Surround foam tears.mp4 - YouTube

Last edited:
why? my logi z5500d is working fine in every other aspect...infact i simply luv its gr88888 bad ass bass...nothing comparable to it in this dept!

i want a solution to my z5500d issue only!

rishiguru should be able to assist you with it.. ping him. he have dismantled the logi's and should be the best guide for you in this case.. also check with the DIY guys...

You need to buy a new driver. If Logitech will not supply a spare part, perhaps you can buy the speaker and case itself. Another place to buy speakers is from Ebay, but shipping might kill you.