New speakers break in process...

akilesh13

Hey Guys,

Today I'm getting my first Hi-fi system. Wharfedale 10.1 bookshelves with Marantz PM5004 stereo amp. I browsed around the internet regarding
BREAK IN. Did not get a clear idea about it. My questions are

1) What is Break in?
2) Does all the brand new speakers require a certain method for break in or only specific brands?
3) If so, for the Wharfedale 10.1 how exactly should i do the break in process?
4) Is break in applicable only for new speakers or also for new stereo amplifiers?

Sorry if my questions are lame.. I'm very new to all dis... Any help is appreciated. Thanks :D

Hey Guys,

Today I'm getting my first Hi-fi system. Wharfedale 10.1 bookshelves with Marantz PM5004 stereo amp. I browsed around the internet regarding
BREAK IN. Did not get a clear idea about it. My questions are

1) What is Break in?
2) Does all the brand new speakers require a certain method for break in or only specific brands?
3) If so, for the Wharfedale 10.1 how exactly should i do the break in process?
4) Is break in applicable only for new speakers or also for new stereo amplifiers?

Sorry if my questions are lame.. I'm very new to all dis... Any help is appreciated. Thanks :D

Many congrats on your new system....All you need to do is listen to your favourite music @ moderate listening level...

Any new speaker will take some time (break-in/Burn-in) to sound the best...Just like a new bike / new car...

roughly around < = 100 hrs of usage, it will start getting better...:eek:hyeah:

I think (if I remember correctly) on the global Wharfdale sight, they have provided documentation for the same along with diagrams. That might be useful to u...

Enjoy your new system.....

Regards,

Amit

That is a very genuine factor, but for the components with moving parts (bigger than electrons ;) ) burn-in certainly may be a reality. Speakers and TT cartridges would seem to be the mostly likely candidates.