Newbie looking for LPs

asiyer

Hullo All !

I am a relative newbie into the world of Vinyl. I am looking to acquire
* Classical Indian Music LPs (mostly vocal Hindustani/Carnatic) and
* Devotional Songs (MS Subbulakshmi, PIthukuli Murugadas, etc)

Any links/guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks
-Anand

Hullo All !

Thanks
-Anand

You can try Jitendra at Borivali, Mumbai. He used to have huge number of Hindustani vocals, but expensive. About 3-4 years back I have paid Rs. 1500-2000 for many records but they are good quality. I paid 3000 for one rare Sawai Gandharv LP. The minimum that he had was 500 bucks. You can try your luck.

Check with INDIAN VINYL RECORDS
Call them up they have a huge collection

No affiliation with them just FYI :)

Hullo All !

Thanks
-Anand

Thanks for all the inputs guys.

Attn. NavinS: I got in touch with Mr. Jitendra in Borivili (Mumbai), and he's promised to pull out a list of LP names for me in the next couple of days.

Attn. Selvin: Thanks. I will be waiting for that list of MSS LPs.

Attn. CoProcessor/Justin: Thanks. I have bookmarked Indian Vinyl Records and VinylWorld.

My current setup is a
* Marantz TT-5005, Philips Bluray Player, and a MediaTek Media Player,
* Harmon Kardon AVR255 amplifier
* Infinity Primus Speakers, and
* Panasonic 58" Plasma HDTV

I have
* A little over 200 LPs - Mostly Classic Rock (with a few Jazz, Blues, Indian Classical)
* About 2400 CDs (about equal in terms of Classic Rock, Blues and Indian Classical)

Hullo All !

Thanks
-Anand

Hello,
If you are in Delhi you can go to the place listed in this article in meena bazzar.

A guide for LP record lovers in Delhi | music | Hindustan Times

He is a bit expensive and wants 1000rs per record. I talked him (rather my wife talked him) down to 700rs per record but not any further because he knew we were from outside Indian.

Picked up 13 assorted classical albums but he has a decent varied collection.

good luck!