Overly bright set up: audiolab 8000a with mission 751

tpaschenegger

I'm kind of new in the audio game. I recently installed my first proper set up: an Audiolab 8000a with Mission 751's. I play music through spotify premium (yes, I know) with a V-dac II connected to my Macbook. I mostly listen to alternative pop/rock.
I found the whole set up to be overly bright and after a short while of listening very fatiguing and even causing slight headache. Now I'm looking to replace one link in about the same price class to reach a warmer sound, I'd say my budget is around $400 and I mostly buy second hand. I do prefer a set up that doesn't color the music to much and is very detailed. That's why I settled on this set up in the first place, but it ended up being way to bright for comfortable listening.
I could replace the audiolab 8000a with for example a Nad c350
I could replace the Mission's for something warmer like a Dynaudio 40.
Or I could replace the V-dac II for example an Arcam Irdac, but I guess that will make the least difference.
Which peace of gear would you recommend keeping and which one would you recommend replacing? And with what? Any advice would be much appreciated.

The first suspect should be your current speakers.
Then the rest of the chain.
My suggestion would be to carry your Amp/DAC or at least the amp and audition.

Cheers,
Raghu

Audiolab is bright and Mission forward sounding hence hell. Get Denon or Yamaha or Arcam with Mission. B&W Wharfedale etc with audiolab.

if the nad is a match, its a good amp - its slightly on the warmer side at the same time very detailed and musical

Before making any big and costly changes I would suggest you to first try swapping some interconnects and speaker cables. Speaker cables preferably copper. (Without any coating of tin or silver).

Also try covering the tweeters lightly with a little piece of tissue (temporarily use some tape) and see if it softens the highs a bit.