Plasma/LCD/LED TV life 5-6 yrs.!

nindo

Hi,

I have been using Samsung 5 Series 40" Full HD LCD tv for about 3 years and just a couple of weeks back while watching regular TV it started blinking (as in the brightness started going up and down) and suddenly it stopped but with the result that the colors were distorted- like i am watching a old school negative film.!

After repeated calls to Samsung customer care and one visit from their engineer i was informed that the panel PCB has gone bust and as it is not available separately i will have to buy the whole panel worth INR 34000.!

For a TV bought for INR 60000 3 yrs back spending 34k again was just ridiculous. Finally after few more calls and arguments with Samsung customer care, the engineer who visited twice again told me that he can get the PCB from any old samsung TV with similar Panel, discarded for whatever reasons and fix it for about 8k.

But the most important fact is the engineer informed me that i am one among thousands of customers who bought LCD TVs around 2007-8 from different brands who face this problem now, plus may it plasma or LCD or the latest LEDs- their panel+PCB life is not more than 5-6 yrs on standard TV viewing hours (say 5-6 hrs per day).! :eek: (by the way this guy claims he has been in the business for more than 16 years- he was working for Videocon in their hay days)

What i would like to ask all you ppl is that does it make sense to spend thousands or even lakhs to buy a product which is yet not tested for durability or is built by the manufacturers in a way that it doesn't last more than 5-6 years, so that the new products are bought faster and old ones scrapped. Are the days when we used to buy a brand new TV and forget about servicing/repairing it for like 15 yrs gone..? :sad:

you comments will be most appreciated.

u expect the tv to last 15 years.. hmm samsung would go bust if it lasted so long..